Skip to content

Ambrosia Salad

July 13, 2012

Ambrosia salad ~ now that’s a word from yesteryear that accompanies a picture in my head of some kind of orange fluff I was too afraid to try.  I remember it being at all the family get together’s while growing up.

Well, last week on my link party I saw this delicious recipe from Kelley over at The Grant Life and she inspired me to create my own.  So I looked through my cookbook and found one I had forgotten about from my cousin Elena’s Mom Connie.  I have had Connie’s version several times and it’s delicious. But me being me, I really wanted to incorporate some new ingredients so I combined some of Kelley’s ingredients with some of Connie’s and I came up with a new and super delicious Ambrosia Salad.  Give it a try ~ Don’t be afraid ~ it’s really yummy πŸ™‚  Let me know what’cha think.

Looks kinda like ice cream huh?  Tastes just as yummy too πŸ™‚

Here’s what you need:
1 – 3 oz. fruit punch Jell-O gelatin mix
1 – 20 oz. can pineapple tidbits with juice
1/2 of a 14 oz. package of sweetened coconut (approx 1 – 1-1/2 cups)
8 oz. tub of Cool whip
1/4 cup sour cream

Super simple directions ~

Place all ingredients in a medium to large bowl and mix well.

 
I’d never heard of the fruit punch Jell-O before.  It sure is yummy!
 
It’s like a pink fluffy cloud of yummy goodness!
After it’s all mixed together and you’ve had several bites just to be sure it’s mixed well enough, place in the fridge for a few hours (at least 2 up to overnight) to get cold and set.  
Great as a summer side dish to any meal or all by itself for, breakfast, lunch, or a snack πŸ™‚
Some additional add in’s you could use:
Mandarin oranges
Grapes
Mini marshmallows
Fruit cocktail
Different flavors of Jell-O

Serves 8 – 10
Enjoy!
~Hugs~
Michelle
Here’s the handy printable – Ambrosia Salad 
You can find me each week linking up to these wonderful blogs.

From → Salads, Side Dishes

4 Comments
  1. I love these types of salads! I've never heard of fruit punch jell-o before either! I will have to check my grocery store to see if they have it!

  2. Your salad looks really good! Lovely color! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. Sheena,I was looking for a tropical jello when I found the fruit punch and it looked too good to pass up. I was really pleased with the flavor and will definitely use it again. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  4. Ambreen, It was a super yummy salad. The color is from the wonderful jello flavor I found. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

