Skip to content

Tropical Delight Cake

January 28, 2012

After making the Chocolate Caramel Crunch Cake the other day I decided to try it with a pineapple coconut theme.  Boy oh boy was this cake delicious!  I personally think it was even better than the chocolate one, but I am totally partial to anything pineapple coconut.

Here’s what you need:

1 yellow cake mix – any brand
1 small (3.4 oz) box instant vanilla pudding
3 eggs
1-1/4 cups water
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 20 oz. can crushed pineapple
1 cup brown sugar
4 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
8 oz. Cool Whip
3/4 cup shredded coconut, toasted

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix cake mix, pudding, eggs, water, and oil in a large bowl for 1 minute until completely smooth and a light yellow.
 
Pour into a 9 x 13 baking dish that has been sprayed with a cooking spray.  Bake for 35 – 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes.
While the cake is cooking, place the pineapple and juice in a sauce pan with the brown sugar and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes.
 
After cake has cooled for 10 minutes, poke slits in the cake without going all the way through to the dish using a butter knife. Pour the pineapple mixture over the holes, covering the whole cake.
 
Set aside until cake is completely cooled.  Approximately 1 hour.
While cake is cooling heat oven to 350 degrees and place the coconut on a cookie sheet spreading out in an even layer. Bake 7 minutes then stir and bake another 5 – 7 minutes until toasted and golden.
Once cake has cooled; in a medium bowl place the 4oz room temperature cream cheese and the 1/4 cup sugar and beat until smooth.  Add the 8 oz. of Cool Whip and mix until completely smooth.
 

Pour onto the cake and smooth out over the whole top. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving (4 is even better).

Just before serving sprinkle the whole top of the cake with the toasted coconut.

 

 And serve.


Serves 12

Enjoy!
~Hugs~
Michelle

From → Cakes, Dessert

12 Comments
  1. Oooh! I love this version of the poke cake! Thanks for linking up!

  2. You have some amazing recipes here! I cannot wait to try this either!

  3. Your killing me with you cakes! I want some! Thanks for linking up to Southern Sundays!www.asliceofsouthern.blogspot.com

  4. Featuring on Thursday at Bacon Time!

  5. I feature this at my link party today! I cannot wait to try it!!!

  6. This cake looks amazing.. Printing them recipe to make it this weekend. Thanks for sharing.

  7. This looks soooooo good. I thoroughly enjoyed this delicious post. I would love it if you could share this wonderful post at our WIW linky party. I hope you can join us.PaulaIvyandelephants.blogspot.com

  8. Okay, I gotta wipe the drool off my chin first. OMG! This looks like something Mr. B would devour! Thanks again for sharing at You're Gonna Love It Tuesday!

  9. I just know Mr. B will devour this. Thanks for sharing at You're Gonna Love It Tuesday!

  10. Congratulations!!! You cake recipe is a "FEATURED" recipe on today's Southern Sunday linky party!!! Everyone loved this cake! Come by and check it out, and grab a button if you like. Hope to see you link up some more excellent dishes this week to. The party is going on now! http://www.asliceofsouthern.blogspot.com

  11. My hubs would love this. He loves toasted coconut! Thanks for sharing on Tout It Tuesday!

  12. I am just partial to coconut anything:-) This sounds really good…sure wish I had a piece right now! This cake is going to haunt my dreams tonight, I can tell!!!

Leave a Reply

